6 candidates file for Jellico mayoral race

-A A +A
By Joseph P. King II

JELLICO—As of Tuesday, six candidates have filed to compete in the upcoming November election in the Jellico mayoral race.

Forster Baird, Alvin Evans, Larry M. Meadors, Dwight D. Osborn, Les E. Stiers and Louise Walden will likely vie for the town’s top office.

Baird served as a Campbell County Commissioner in District 5 from 2002 to 2010, mayor of Jellico from 2006 until 2010 and was elected earlier this month to serve a 4-year term as a Campbell County Commissioner in District 5. Baird also served as a Jellico alderman prior to his time as mayor.

Evans, who is an incumbent alderman, served as a Campbell County Commissioner in District 5 from 2010 to 2014. He did not win re-election this August.

Stiers is the current Mayor of Jellico and has held that office since 2010. In 2012 a lawsuit was filed by a group of Jellico residents to oust Stiers from office.

Much of the case against Stiers claims he overstated his authority as mayor. The case has since been sent to the District Attorney General to determine if it has validly in court. To date, it is still under review.

Meadors, Osborn and Walden have not held elected office before, according to Campbell County Administrator of Elections Ann Ayers-Colvin.

Each have also filed to run for a Jellico alderman position. Those elected to multiple offices can serve simultaneous positions as long as it is limited to one office in the county, one in the city and one in the state, Ayers-Colvin said.

Editor’s note: The information on candidate history came from the Campbell County Election Commission and Jellico City Hall.