County sees high voter turn out

-A A +A
By Susan Sharp

With nearly record numbers and quick results Tuesday’s election is now in the history books.

“We had a better than average turn out,” said Mark. A. Wells, chair of the election commission. “There seemed to be a lot of interest in the election.”

With 12,447 Campbell Countian casting ballots election officials said that was close to a record turn out. “Had we had county offices on the ballot, I think we could have broken a record,” said Wells.

Just after 8 p.m, the election commission released the early/ absentee votes showing 5,723 votes had been casted. Those results also saw what would become the night’s winners taking an early lead.

By 10 p.m., all 21 precincts had reported their tallies.


Incumbent Mike Stanfield retained his seat beating challenger Wayne Kitts with a 2 to 1 margin. At the end of the night Stanfield had collected 1,214 votes to Kitts’ 645 votes. In the city council race Hansford Hatmaker was elected to another term with 1,034 votes. Bob Fannon, who previously served on the council, was chosen for another term by the voters. He garnered 1,043 votes. In this race, Virgil Kidwell had a strong showing with 706 votes.


The mayor’s race saw an upset with incumbent Mayor Robert Stooksbury receiving 285 votes of the 766 cast in the race. Alderman Chris Stanley ultimately won the seat with 365 votes. Jerry Chadwell finished a distant third with 116 votes. The board of aldermen will also see a change. Lloyd Lawson, who ran unopposed for the third ward position had 621 complimentary votes. In the first ward Vicki Heatherly retained her seat with 544 votes to challenger Allen Smith’s 205. Glenn Smith, who also ran unopposed, was given 615 complimentary votes.


Gov. Mitt Romney carried Campbell County with a nearly 3 to 1 margin over President Barack Obama. He received 8,602 votes to Obama’s 3,327.

In the U.S. Senate race, current Sen. Bob Corker garnered 8,334 votes. His closest completion came from his Democratic challenger Mark Clayton.

The Second Congressional District vote went to incumbent John J. Duncan, Jr. with 973 votes. Troy Goodale had 391.

In the Third Congressional District Chuck Fleishman held onto to his seat beating Mary M. Headrick. Fleishman had 6,378 votes to her 2,737.

“The polls were steady through out the day,” said Wells. “We had a very good election with a very good turn out.”