Dixie Youth All-Stars picked; tourneys begin this weekend

-A A +A
By Dwane Wilder

Dixie Youth Baseball teams open all-star tournament play this weekend. Campbell County is hosting the 11-12 year olds at Asbury Park in Caryville. Opening night is set for Friday, June 22. However, Campbell County’s 11-12 team was awarded a first-round bye and won’t see action until Saturday evening at 6 p.m.

Tickets are $5 at the gate. One dollar of each ticket sold on opening night goes into the Dixie Youth Scholarship Fund.

The following is a list of Campbell County all-star players selected to compete in the four older baseball age divisions.

11-12 All-Stars

Zack Sulfridge, Brett Longmire, Nathan “Smalls” Johnson, Jacob Ridenour, Dylan Vickery, Bradley Miracle, Zack Rutherford, Clay Lindsay, Cody Wilburn, J.J. Mickell, Josh McKillip and Austin Ford. Coaches are Marvin Rutherford, Brian Miracle and Wes McKillip. 

9-10 All-Stars

Chase Carroll, Alyssa Brown, Roger Chavis Jr., Caleb Williamson, Joseph Gilbert, Hunter Richardson, Jarret Ellison, Joseph Paul, Blake Ivey, Micheal Brown, Jackson Murray and C.J. Allen. Coaches are Matt Murray, Johnathon Cupp and Brian Paul.

7-8 All-Stars

American League

Jack Leach, David Bates, Bryson Horton, Blake Roberts, Nathaniel Walden, Shae Berry, Luke Hartter, Jake Morgan, Garrett Medley, Isaac Sulfridge, Michael Riley and Jaden Tackett. Coach is Brian Leach.

7-8 All-Stars 

National League

Eli Austin, Tyler Daugherty, Elijah Deel, Ryland Ford, Kole Harris, Shawn Hill, Storm Hoskins, Devon Jones, Kaiden Lawson, Jonathan “JP” Paul, Logan Walden and Christopher Weiss. Manager is Dean Whedbee. Assistant coaches are Jason Austin, Dustin Daugherty and Sheriva Campbell.