Eagles win Halls tournament

-A A +A

The Jacksboro Middle School boy’s basketball team took 1st place last week in the Halls High School New Year Tournament.
The Eagles opened the tournament with a 42-36 victory over Whittle Springs Middle School.
Darin Gillenwater led the Eagles with 19 points, followed by Trey Torres with 11, Seth Pebley 6, Dylan Clawson and Jesse Sharp 3 each.
Jacksboro edged Oliver Springs, 33-30, in the second round, with Torres scoring 13 points, Gillenwater 10, Clawson 6, Pebley 3 and Sharp 1.
The Eagles fell 41-32 to Halls on Thursday. Gillenwater had 17 points, followed by Torres and Sharp with 4 each, Joseph Elkins 3, Pebley and Jacob McGuire 2 each.
Later the same day, the Eagles defeated Horace Maynard for the championship. Torres had 20 points, while Clawson had 12, Gillenwater 8, Pebley 5, Sharp and Will Chambers 4 each, and Kaine Peel 1.
Horace Maynard focused its attention on taking Gillenwater out of the game, and Torres took control by scoring and getting multiple assists at will. Torres was named MVP, while Gillenwater also made the all-tournament team.
Jacksboro coach Matt Housley was pleased with the effort the boys gave during the tournament.
“The team is completely different when Trey Torres takes control of the game and does a nice job of scoring in addition to getting the rest of the team open looks,” said the coach.