Early voting sees high numbers

-A A +A

As Election Day approaches, many in Campbell County have already casted ballots through early voting.

“Been very heavy,” said Ann Ayers-Colvin, Campbell County Administrator of Elections. “Which is very good. We like that. At the close on Saturday, we had voted over 4,100 people.”

So far, more Tennesseans have participated in early voting than last year, according to a press release from secretary of state Tre Hargett’s office. This year, about 14,000 more Tennesseans have participated in early voting at the ten-day mark than in 2008. By Saturday, 999,061 Tennesseans had casted ballots.

President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden are running against Republican challenger Mitt Romney and his running mate Paul Ryan.

U. S. Senator Bob Corker (Republican) is running against Democratic candidate Mark Clayton. U. S. Congressman John Duncan (Republican) from the second district is running against Democratic challenger Troy Goodale. U. S. Congressman Chuck Fleischmann (Republican) from the third district is running against Democratic challenger Mary Headrick.

State Senator Ken Yager (Republican) is running unopposed. State Rep. Dennis Powers (Republican) from the 36th district is running against independent Virgil Kidwell.

A sales tax referendum will also be on the ballot for Campbell County voters. They will decide whether or not to increase the local sales tax from 2.25 percent to 2.75 percent. The intention behind the tax raise is to increase funding to the Campbell County Highway Department by about $800,000 in order to pave more roads.

Incumbent Mike Stanfield is running against Wayne Kitts for mayor of LaFollette. LaFollette residents will also choose two council members from three candidates: Hansford Hatmaker, Bob Fannon and Virgil Kidwell.

Incumbent Robert Stooksbury is running against Chris Stanley and Jerry Chadwell for Caryville Mayor. Caryville voters will also elect three aldermen. Alderwoman Vickie Heatherly is running against Allen Smith. Aldermen Glenn Smith and Lloyd Lawson are running unopposed.

Lake City voters will choose two city council members from four candidates: Pamela Brown, Bill Holt, Andrew Howard and J. Shain Vowell.

In order to participate in this election, voters had to register by Oct. 8, Ayers-Colvin said. There was a rush to register, because many people wanted to participate in this election.

Nov. 6 is Election Day. The 21 precincts will be open from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Voters need to bring photo IDs with them when they vote.

A little over 23,000 active voters are registered in Campbell County. There are 24,000 voters registered, including inactive voters. In Campbell County, 13,178 registered voters participated in the 2008 presidential election.