Evans named one of the top linemen in 3-AAA

-A A +A
By Dwane Wilder

Several Campbell County High School football players were honored last week by the District 3-AAA coaches.


CCHS junior Keenan Evans shared lineman of the year honors with Josh Norman from Oak Ridge. Joining Evans on the 2009 all-district first team were CCHS teammates Tyler Amburgey, Trevor Nolan and Brad Hicks. Arnie Meredith was voted academic all-district. Honorable mention all-district candidates for the Cougars included Wesley Cook, Tyler Oakes, Ben Muse and Donovan Long.

“It was exciting to see Keenan get that award,” said Campbell County coach Dewayne Wells.

“He played on both sides of the ball and was well-deserving. He and the other three (Amburgey, Nolan and Hicks) were returning starters that meant a lot to this program. And it was tremendous for Arnie to be recognized as a scholar athlete. It just goes to show that hard work pays off.”

District champion Clinton had the most first-team all-district players (12). They included linebacker Weston Hazelhurst, district player of the year; quarterback Darian Stone, offensive player of the year; Blake Williams; Dylan Mitchell, Nick Frazier; Bryant Sissom; Joel Chapman; Elijah Boles; Camion Patrick; Brandon and Cory Washington.

His peers honored Clinton skipper Andy Shattuck as coach of the year.

District runner-up Oak Ridge had nine players selected first-team all-district, including Chris Harden, the defensive player of the year. The Wildcats’ other honorees were Brad Zulliger, Johnathan Hairston, Morgan Guyman, Robert Austin, Brian Leffler, Zackary Zulliger, Tracy Hunt and Tyrus Henderson.

Anderson County, which finished third during the regular season but went the farthest (state quarterfinals) in the postseason, had eight players make the first team. They included Chad Blakely, specialist of the year; Josh Wilson, Drew Hicks, Tanner Williams, Zane Roberts, Mikey Idles, Jeremy Kesterson and Kendall Edwards.

Other players named first-team all-district are listed as follows:

Powell — Dustin McPhetridge, Steven Slagle, Hunter Cooke, Cameron Petree, Alex Booth, Darian Logan.

Halls — Garrett Gresham, Chad Bright, Hake Long, Zach Dowdy, Ben McFalls, Zack Gibson.

Karns — Kevin Guinn, Kyle Boden, Michael Puckett, Baerett Frazier.

Knoxville Central — Carl Mills, Jeffrey Howard, Gabe Ingram.

Hardin Valley — Zach Clevenger, Adam Schlosser.