Jellico lands seven basketball players on All-District 4-A high school teams

-A A +A
By Dwane Wilder

Seven Jellico High School basketball players were recently honored by the District 4-A coaches for outstanding effort on the hardwood this year.


Jellico forwards Cody Malicoat and Ethan Shelley, both seniors, were first-team selections to the all-district boys’ team. 

Malicoat, a Middle Tennessee State University signee, is a two-time honoree. He was player of the year in 2011. Shelley will sign next week with Alice Lloyd College.

Wartburg junior forward Alex Fountain was named boys’ player of the year for 2012, while his mentor — Joe Layne — was named boys’ coach of the year.

Other first-team picks to the boys’ team include Oneida’s Jake Wright and Cole West, Sunbright’s Kyle Gunter and Wartburg’s Brad Richardson.

Members of the second team were Cody Hill and Dillon Wilson from Coalfield, John Simms from Oliver Springs and Tyler Langley from Sunbright. Jellico’s Justin Bowlin and Austin Hunley were honorable mention candidates for all-district honors. 

Other honorable mention candidates include Ryan Hill and Hayden Ariaz from Coalfield; Robert DeVaney, Tim Stewart, Michael Lindsay and Jacob Pease from Oakdale; Derek Miller, Tyler Seabolt and Timmy Turner from Sunbright; Noah Duncan and Clay Jeffers from Oneida; Garrett Miller, Jordan Romero and Cory McBee from Oliver Springs; and Brandon Justes, Austin Langley and Zach Moore from Wartburg.

Girls’ honors

Destany Creekmore was the only Jellico girl named first-team all-district. Jason Davis of Wartburg was named girls’ coach of the year, while Oakdale senior post Lindsey Kilby was player of the year.

Other girls’ first-team selections include Kellie Kidd and Sarah Davidson from Wartburg, Marissa Redmon and Nicole Thompson from Oakdale, Samantha Hamby from Coalfield, Kellie Ball from Oliver Springs, Micah Stephens and Stevi Jeffers from Oneida and Robbiccaa Williams from Sunbright.

Jellico’s Rachel Ayers and Brittany Kennedy were honorable mention candidates for all-district honors. 

Other honorable mention selections were Kristie Phillips and Chelsey Lowe from Wartburg; Kelsey Christopher, Macy Martin and Alix Giles from Oliver Springs; Andrea Foster from Coalfield; Abby Burchfield and Jessi Morgan from Oneida; Angelica Williams and Shelby Jones from Sunbright; and Sierra Snow from Oakdale.