.....Advertisement.....
.....Advertisement.....

Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency news

-A A +A

 Almost time to renew 

hunting/fishing license

February 28 marks the expiration of the 2010-11 Tennessee Hunting and Fishing Licenses. The expiration of the licenses coincides with the time when most hunting seasons in the state end and interest in fishing begins to increase. 

New licenses for 2011-12 will be available for purchase beginning Friday, Feb. 18. There are no changes in license costs for 2011-12.

Resident licenses may be purchased by: persons who possess a valid Tennessee driver’s license; persons who have lived in Tennessee for 90 consecutive days with the genuine intent of making Tennessee their permanent home; military personnel on active duty in this state and their immediate families that reside with them, regardless of resident status; students who are enrolled in a Tennessee school, college or university for at least six months. A Social Security number is required to purchase a Tennessee hunting or fishing license.

Licenses may also be purchased online on the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency (TWRA) website www.tnwildlife.org and charged to a credit card. Licenses may also be ordered by telephone and charged to a credit card by calling 1-888-814-8972. All licenses purchased by credit card will be charged a $3.95 processing and handling fee. To expedite telephone orders, callers should be prepared to give their name, address, physical description, Social Security number, driver’s license number, TWRA ID number (if renewing) and credit card number.

Licenses are printed on a special tear-resistant, waterproof paper. In the event a license is lost or misplaced, duplicates can be obtained from any REAL license agent for a fee of $7.

 

Public input sought

for hunting seasons

The Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency (TWRA) is soliciting comments for its 2011-12 hunting season regulations. This is an opportunity for the public to share ideas and concerns about hunting regulations with TWRA staff.

Public comments will be considered by TWRA’s Wildlife Division staff and may be presented as proposals for regulation changes. Comments may be submitted by mail to: 2011-12 Hunting Season Comments, TWRA, Wildlife Management Division, P.O. 40747, Nashville, TN 37204 or emailed to twra.comment@tn.gov. Please include “Hunting Season Comments” on the subject line of emailed submissions. 

The comment period concerning the 2011-12 hunting season regulations will be open until Feb. 24, 2011. 

 

Hunter education class

set March 8 at Cove Lake

Ken Cutsinger will teach a Tennessee Hunter Education class beginning March 8 at 6 p.m. at Cove Lake State Park.

State law requires that anyone born on or after Jan. 1, 1969, beginning at age 10, possess proof of satisfactory completion of an approved hunter education course before hunting in Tennessee.

In order to enroll in a hunter education class, students must be at least 9 years old. Persons ages 6-9 may participate in young sportsman and wildlife management area hunts without hunter education, but must be accompanied by an adult at least 21 years old.

Participants need to bring a pencil and their Social Security number to class.