Five Jellico football players picked first team all-district

-A A +A
By Dwane Wilder

Five Jellico High School football players have been named to the All-District 4-A/AA Football Team this year following a vote of the league coaches. They include running back/linebacker Freedom Scott, running back/linebacker Ryan Morris, wide receiver/defensive back Nathan Overton, lineman/quarterback Devin Oakes and receiver Michael Douglas.

Blue Devil teammates Tyler Silcox, Jimmy Rager, Darius Marlow, Ryan Irwin, Craig Payne and Michael Douglas were second team selections. Silcox (3.8 GPA), Jeremiah Thompson (3.6 GPA) and Rager (3.4 GPA) were also named to the all-academic team reserved for seniors with a 3.0 or higher grade point average.

John Brewster — who led Oneida to an 8-3 record, a district championship and the second round of the Class 2A state playoffs — was honored by his peers as coach of the year.

District Co-MVPs were Oneida junior running back/defensive back Sam Woodard (815 yds. rushing, 16 TDs, 2 INTs) and Oliver Springs sophomore running back Jordan Romero (1,352 yds. rushing, 24 TDs).

Jessie England, Sunbright’s super sophomore quarterback, was named offensive player of the year after passing for 1,929 yards. Wartburg junior linebacker Aaron Hutchison, who made 95 tackles over the course of the season, was picked as defensive player of the year.

Other district superlatives included.

•Offensive Lineman of the Year—Aaron Foust, senior right guard, Oliver Springs.

•Defensive Lineman of the Year—Wayne Fletcher, senior end, Coalfield.

•Linebacker of the Year—Isaiah Turner, senior linebacker, Oakdale.

•Receiver of the Year—Tyler Walls, junior tight end, Coalfield.

•Defensive Back of the Year—Dylan West, senior safety, Oneida.

•Offensive Special Teams Player of the Year—Adam Spence, junior kick returner/punt returner, Wartburg.

•Defensive Special Teams Players of the Year—Dexter Nelson, senior punter, Oakdale.

•Co-Athletes of the Year—Will Woodard, senior wide receiver/cornerback, Oneida; Wesley Rather, senior wide receiver/safety, Oliver Springs. District champion Oneida had the most players (12) named to the first team, followed by Oliver Springs (11), Wartburg (9), Coalfield (8), Sunbright (6), Jellico (4) and Oakdale (4).